Glucose syrup gluten free

4

Posted by glutenfr | Posted in Science, treats | Posted on 10-07-2010

Tags: , ,

is glucose syrup gluten free?

is glucose syrup gluten free?

Have you ever noticed that all of the truly delicious stuff has glucose syrup in it? Of course you have because the treat makers usually flag that it is derived from wheat on the label.

This declaration alone has kept me safe from thousands of calories in recent years.

Most lollies and a lot of dessert products like icecream have glucose syrup on their ingredients lists.

Then my co-blogger Lucy casually asked a few weeks ago: “So what’s the deal with glucose syrup?” And I said: “I don’t really know”.

So here we are again, finding out together.

For those who like the sciency angle, glucose syrup is a liquid sweetener that is made through the “enzymatic hydrolysis” of starch. It can be made from any type of starch including corn or potato though wheat seems to be pretty common.

The Coeliac Society of Australia says that glucose syrups are so highly processed that no gluten can be detected in them (that means they have less than 20mg/kg). That means for official purposes glucose syrup is gluten free even though, confusingly, manufacturers who use it declare gluten on the label.

A randomized, double-blind, placebo controlled Finnish study a couple of years ago found that starch hydrolysate products (ie glucose syrup, dextrose and maltodextrins) were safe for coeliac sufferers to consume on a daily basis.

Some still choose to avoid trace gluten.

And me? Ignorance was bliss.

MB

Comment

Comments (4)

Thanks for the post and starting a great conversation.. I wish the coeliac society’s conclusions on glucose were the same for me. I am coeliac and cannot tolerate glucose syrups from wheat myself.

Please make sure your body is okay with it before going head first into eating products with any wheat-derived colours or syrups!

I have tried to be careful and read all ingredients, recently I have discovered that some labels state glucose – may be derived from wheat or corn with the wheat in bold and corn, this has made it even harder to choose the right stuff. I am wheat intolerant and really suffer if I make the wrong choice or forget to ask when eating out about the wheat factor….and some wait staff are not aware of what actually is contained in the food. Another incident in the last week was a salad dressing that was written as a balsamic dressing but when I arrived on the table is was a creamy dressing I ate I suffered. Conclusion is I will now have to take my own dressing to play it safe.

read ‘sweet poison’ by david gillespie

you should provide links to the studies you reference!

Write a comment